"Now, what is this site about, how Joe Torre ruined pitchers' arms? Is that it?"
-Michael Kay, August 18, 2009

Wednesday, November 14, 2007

Wedge and Melvin win Manager of the Year

From the Associated Press:

Eric Wedge received 19 of the 28 first-place ballots and got 116 points, finishing ahead of the Angels' Mike Scioscia (62 points). Joe Torre, who left the Yankees, was next with 61 and Terry Francona of the World Series champion Red Sox got 13.

Bob Melvin was chosen on 19 of the 30 first-place ballots and got 119 points. Philadelphia's Charlie Manuel (76), Colorado's Clint Hurdle (58) and the Cubs' Lou Piniella (25) followed. (ESPN.com)

Wedge was the easy decision in the American League. I would've given the National Manager of the Year to Charlie Manuel.

The National League Cy Young Award will be announced tomorrow.


Post a Comment